Ogden Twilight Concerts: Metronomy & The Cold War Kids

Ogden Twilight Concerts – Metronomy & Cold War Kids

Thursday, June 28, 2018 – Ogden Amphitheater – 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm


Metronomy is an electronic music group formed in 1999. The current band consists of Joseph Mount (vocals, keyboards and guitar), Oscar Cash (saxophone, backing vocals, guitars and keyboards), Anna Prior (drums and vocals) and Gbenga Adelekan (bass guitar and vocals). Their music consists of instrumental electronic music and more recently, vocal electronic pop music. Mount also releases remixes under the name Metronomy. Mount has remixed many artists including Gorillaz, Sebastien Tellier, Roots Manuva. Other collaborators include Franz Ferdinand, Klaxons, Goldfrapp, Young Knives, Zero 7, Ladytron, Kate Nash, Lady Gaga and Lykke Li.
In addition Metronomy has released five albums of original material, Pip Paine (Pay The £5000 You Owe), Nights Out, The English Riviera, and Love Letters. Their fifth studio album titled Summer ’08 was released on 1 July 2016. The name “Metronomy” comes from Joseph Mount on the basis that it sounded cool and interesting. The main influences of the band are those that he liked such as Autechre and Funkstorung. Their gigs often incorporate simple dance routines and band members wear push-button lights that they use in union.

Cold War Kids:

Cold War Kids are an American indie rock band and strive to make honest songs about human experience in orchards and hotel rooms, laundromats and churches, sea ports and school halls. We love the songs of Dylan, Nina Simone, and the Velvet Underground and make our own, which we like to think, are pretty original. They began in 2004 when founding members Nathan Willett (vocalist/guitarist/pianist), Matt Maust (bassist), Matt Aveiro (drummer), and Jonnie Russel (guitarist), began crafting their pieces. In spring of 2005 their debut album “Mulberry Street” was released.  In late 2012 Russell left Cold War Kids and former Modest Mouse guitarist Dann Gallucci joined. Not long after that, drummer Aveiro left and was replaced by Modest Mouse drummer Joe Plummer. Early influences include Bob Dylan, Billie Holiday, Jeff Buckley, and The Velvet Underground.

Get Updates & More

Thoughtful thoughts to your inbox

[mc4wp_form id="10292"]